Back to blog

Get to know our team - Dan Hoy

Get to know our team - Dan Hoy

Every member of our team is unique and brings a range of knowledge from previous jobs, industries, and even experiences. That is why we love taking the time to sit down and get to know them better. This time around, we talked to account manager Dan Hoy. He joined the GreenStuf® team in July 2021 as a sales assistant, gaining invaluable skills that have helped him in his current role. Read more about what he had to say below.

How long have you been at GreenStuf?

I started at GreenStuf in a sales support role, and after a year, I moved into my current account manager position. My previous role helped me out a lot. I carried out plenty of H1 calculations and had time to get more comfortable with the products.

Did you complete any tertiary study?

I didn’t do any tertiary study as I started racing Triathlons in High School. Back in year eight I participated in my first run and just carried on through high school. For the last two years of high school, I travelled through Europe for three to four-month stints. I learnt a lot during this time as I experienced a lot of different cultures and had to complete some of my schooling through correspondence. 

GreenStuf account manager, Dan Hoy


What is your favourite thing to do in your role?

That would be being out in the market and talking to people. The social aspect of interacting with customers is something that I really enjoy. They have invaluable information and I’m constantly learning from them.

What do you love about your workplace?

There is a real family feel at GreenStuf. Everyone is connected, and we are all working together to reach a common goal. I also love that sustainability plays such a big role in our work. We’re constantly looking to reduce our impact and help those who use our products.

What hobbies do you have outside of work?

I love getting outdoors when I’m not at work. I spend a bit of time running. I usually run four times a week, ranging from 6 to 15 km. On top of this, I do a bit of Mountain Biking and play golf at least once a week. 

What are three interesting facts about yourself?

- I was born in Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK. I spent a decent chunk of my childhood there, leaving at the age of 10 to come to New Zealand for my Dad’s work.

- I have raced Triathlons for New Zealand. Over the four or five years of racing, I managed quite a few top-three finishes at international events. I love the sport because it meant that I was essentially training for three sports, and it allowed me to get international exposure and see countries I would never have had the opportunity to see.

- I held the Under 17s 1500m NZ Schools record time. Running for West Lake Boys High School, I finished in 3 minutes 56 seconds. I’m unsure if I still hold the record, but I can only hope!

What is your proudest achievement?

That would have to be finishing second in a triathlon at the 2014 Youth Olympics in China. First place went to a runner from the UK, but it was such a close finish that they had to go to a video to determine who won.

What songs can we expect to hear when you’re driving around to installs and meeting Architects?

When I’m on the road, I like to keep the energy up, so I usually play a bit of house music and some rap. Some artists you can expect to hear are Fred Again, Burner Boy, and SAINt JHN. 

Path Previous Article

Get to know our team - Ben Hutter

Next Article Path

GreenStuf’s® Takeback programme: New life for leftovers